Adding my custom javascript code for handling a custom field

Hi there! I’m new to this amazing tool and I’m struggling with a very basic question, probably…
I’m adding a snipcart-input of type date to the billing section, and I want to control the min attribute. For that, I need to add my custom javascript code with the business logic. So… Where is the place to add a script that can be available in the checkout?
Thanks!

hi all! I wonder if there’s not enough information on my question… Or maybe it’s not understandable… I’m still struggling with this question. Thank you :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

Hi @beltranrengifo

Any files would work, only thing is to make sure your code executes when Snipcart is ready.

document.addEventListener("snipcart.ready", () => {
   // Your Custom JavaScipt code
});

Cheers,

1 Like

hi @slemieux !!
But in this case, even if Snipcart is ready in the browser, my custom fields are not yet there, not available in the DOM. For example, a date picker placed in the billing section with #my-custom-date-picker id. How can I make sure I execute the event listener function for my input when it is available? Thanks!

As you can see here, I’ve had to add a listener to the whole document so I get sure the selector is available on the checkout process… Then I have to manipulate the DOM to fulfil my business needs. I wonder if there’s a way to inject my custom Vue.js components instead of having to do his job using vanilla JS. And also, I miss more event hooks, like address completed/changes. Even,maybe, an event for each required field in each form…

We do indeed lack some events that would make this easier to achieve. The cleanest way possible at this time would be by using a MutationObserver.

Hope this helps,

1 Like